Spring into Health with Stir-fries

Standard

5046207204_56dc8894e5_o

I love making stir-fries; it’s one of the easiest throw-together meals that satisfy my boyfriend, my daughters, and me! I have been adding delicious spring veggies to make my stir-fries especially tasty this time of year. Here are a few of my favorite veggies to add to a spring-inspired stir-fry.

Baby Bok Choy

Milder than regular Bok Choy, I love the crunch in this super green veggie. Not to mention that this veggies contains over 70 antioxidants, which reduce the oxidative stress that is associated with so many diseases, including cancer.

Garlic Scapes

Garlic scapes are the green shoots from garlic bulbs. I love adding so much flavor to my stir fries with chopped garlic scapes. It’s like an alternative to scallions that you might often use in stir-fries. They add a lot of antiviral and antibacterial properties to the dish and vitamin C too.

Asparagus

I already did an entire spring into health blog on this. Read the amazing health benefits of asparagus here. I often use broccoli for stir-fries, but in spring, I swap out the broccoli for asparagus. Delicious!

Peas

Peas are a great way to give a protein boost to your stir-fry and they are bursting in minerals and fiber too!

Basil

Herbs are so easy to grow in spring and just like the garlic scapes, basil adds a terrific flavor and it contains nearly 100 percent of your vitamin K needs. It is also a great source of magnesium and has amazing anti-bacterial properties.

So there you have it, my favorite veggies and herb to add to stir-fries this time of year. Add a scrambled egg or lean chicken breast for added protein.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

